Baby’s First…Halloween

Its October and that means holiday season. I love holidays- I love the smells, decorations, and cooler weather.  This is Obi’s first season of cheer and I am so excited for his first Halloween, Thanksgiving, and Christmas. But what can you do with a baby that doesn’t walk or talk and probably won’t remember?  Basically, anything you want. At his age (6 months) everything is new and his little brain is picking up so many things at once. Obi especially is fascinated with the world around him so watching his little face  as he experiences the world is more fun for me. He’s less likely to remember anything he experiences this first holiday season.  That being said, here’s what I am planning on d0ing for the holidays.

Halloween

October means adorable baby costumes and cute pumpkin patch photos. Obviously without teeth, trick or treating is not really a realistic activity for a baby who can’t even say “Trick or Treat.”  But there are a lot of fun activities to take Obi to.  

First, there’s Rise of the Jack O Lanterns at the San Diego Safari Park. 5,000 professionally carved pumpkins light up the parking lot of the Safari Park on a 1.3 mile walk.  Rise of the Jack O Lanterns is on Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays after the park closes at 5pm.  The tickets are only available from http://therise.org/sdzweb . Tickets run $22-26 for adults, children ages 3-12 yrs old and seniors 65 and older.  Kiddos under 3 yrs old are free. Rise of the Jack O Lanterns has time slots beginning at 6:30 to 10:30pm.  We are taking Obi to the Rise of the Jack O Lanterns at Descanso Gardens in Los Angeles. 

Second there’s the pumpkin patch. There are a ton of places around San Diego for the pumpkin patch.  In the word’s of Linus of the Peanuts, which is the sincerest pumpkin patch?  SanDiegoFamily.com has a great list for the available pumpkin patches. Of course, Bates Nut Farm tops the list in Valley Center. Then there’s Pumpkin Station in Del Mar, El Cajon, Mission Valley and National City.  Carlsbad Pumpkin Patch in Carlsbad. Oma’s Pumpkin Patch in Lakeside, Peltzer Farms in Temecula, The Farm Stand West in Escondido, Suzie’s Farm in Imperial Beach and Summers Past Farms in El Cajon.  

For those with the cash, and maybe a couple of older kiddos, Halloween at Disneyland is very magical. The decorations are fantastic, The Haunted Mansion is suitably arrayed in Nightmare Before Christmas decor, the music is all Halloween themed and there are fun treats all throughout the park.  The cost of a ticket at Disneyland has gone up so much in the last few years that this is really a special treat. I think the main reason is that the park gets so crowded during the holidays so they raise the price as a way to control crowds. As a teenager, I had an annual pass for about 4 years and I loved being able to pop over to Disneyland for a few hours on the weekends. The annual pass prices have just recently been raised again and people are in an uproar because it’s just gotten so expensive. But a trip to Disneyland is worth it if your kids will remember it.

I have toyed with the idea of dressing Obi up in a cute Star Wars costume but I think I will wait until next year when he’s a little more aware of what’s going on. Costumes have become expensive and I still don’t know how to use my sewing machine- perhaps I will learn to make a costume for him next year. Part of the fun of Halloween for me as a kid was that my mom (or Grandma) made my costumes-  I had some custom made Disney princess dresses, a classic Leia costume and some others that I remember fondly. Most of that is my mom worked so hard for a costume I wore once- or a couple times while playing dress up. I want Obi to remember his Halloweens like I remember mine.  Happy Halloween Everyone!

Leave a Reply

